The Startup Failure Rate Is 90%, I’m Here To Change That

Asking these questions can jumpstart your chances of success

Derick David
6 min readSep 29, 2021
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

My journey started when I and my mom immigrated to Italy when I was 14. It was tough for me for the first couple of years because of the culture and language, so I resorted to books. I was never into entrepreneurship and wasn’t born with a silver spoon either. So, I had to work hard. One of the first books I read was Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill. Single-handedly, it changed the way I see success and money.

Then, I got inspired by the life of Steve Jobs. That started everything. Reading books brought me to a different mindset and perspective in life. Suddenly, I knew I wanted to become an entrepreneur because you will have the power to change people’s lives and make your mark in the universe.

From 2018 to the present day, I’m being mentored by this guy.

His name is Adriano Farano, a Stanford University fellow and serial entrepreneur who has mentored 100+ student entrepreneurs at Stanford. He also co-founded Watchup, the Netflix of Videojournalism, which he successfully sold to Plex.

You will read some of the wisdom he passed into me that I will also be passing in you here.

--

--

Derick David

1M+ views. Seen at Forbes. 10x Top Writer in Technology, Innovation, and Design. https://twitter.com/jeazous